Portsmouth Abbey School
285 Cory’s Lane, Portsmouth, RI 02871
Congratulations to the Portsmouth Abbey Varsity Wrestling team for clinching the league title in the EIL Tournament on Saturday, February 11, 2017. “Coming off a 22-0 dual meet season and some great tournament performances at the Battle of the Bay, and the Northern New England Invitational, the Wrestling Ravens were poised to accomplish the feat that they set out on five years ago, when the program started: capture an EIL Tournament title,” said Head Wrestling Coach Mike McLarney.


This year’s team rocketed to the top dominating the tournament, putting 11 out of 14 wrestlers in the finals and coming away with five champions in first and six seconds. The team additionally qualified 11 of 14 wrestlers for the New England Tournament and has a stable of backups, five of whom also qualified (but cannot compete, because only single entries per weight class are allowed).


“We were awarded a trophy for winning the league regular-season competition with a league record of 11-0 and an overall record of 22-0. We were also awarded a plaque as the team tournament winner. In addition, Mike McLarney was awarded EIL Coach of the Year for Wrestling,” said Coach Dave Wilson. “Truly a team effort!”

Our wrestling champions, by weight class, are:

106 Luke Humphrey ’20 EIL Champion

113 Ramon Uria ’19 EIL Champion

120 JJ Twomey ’19 EIL Finalist

126 Brendan Rogers ’20 EIL Finalist

132 Rodrigo Goff Peniche ’19 EIL Consolation Tournament Champion

138 Thomas Teravainen ’18 EIL Finalist

145 Bautista Carugati ’19 EIL Fourth Place

152 Chris Franco ’18 EIL Finalist

160 Davey Appleton ’20 EIL Champion

170 Lance Spears ’18 EIL Finalist

182 Henry Wilson ’18 EIL Finalist

195 Will Ensign ’17 EIL Consolation Tournament Champion

220 Richard Ryu ’18 EIL Champion

Heavy Weight Chase Carter ’17 EIL Champion